SHOW 5/28/16: BF SIBERIAN DELIRIUM TRAVEL FUNDRAISER AND BON VOYAGE PARTY

Crystal Beth_photo by Joe Iano

Friends – I have some amazing things coming up in June (including a festival performance in Siberia!!!) and I’m throwing myself a party/fundraiser SAT 5/28 to celebrate and generate some bio-survival tickets (cash monies) to make it all happen as stress-free as possible. This will also be the last time to hear my projects until August – so come rock out!!

I will be making some yummy food including those delicious tiny pies and cookies (remember the 700+ I made for Genre Bender 2016!) probably also a chicken and fixins, and music wise will be doing double performances with Crystal Beth (solo) AND the Boom Boom Band. I will also be joined by some stellar friends all performing their own music! It’s gonna be a sound-filled love fest!

SAT 5/28 – doors at 8pm
music starts at 8:30pm
Crystal Beth (solo)
Stephen Fandrich (solo)
Isaac Castillo (solo)
Bushcraft (music by Tristan Gianola)
Crystal Beth & the Boom Boom Band

Spite House
1513 14th Ave between Pine/Pike
$$Suggested donation
Can’t make it in person but want to support:
paypal.me/crystalbethboom

I am beside myself with excitement to report that I am returning to Siberia!!

This time I will be doing a festival performance with the great powerhouse drummer LaFrae Sci (more info at www.apfest.com). LaFrae and I met playing a series of theater shows together in NYC this past winter, and I felt a deep and inspiring connection to her and her ethos in music – also she’s such a ridiculously badass player!! I am looking forward to learning her music and traveling around the world to make the magic with her band at the Philharmonic Hall in Krasnoyarsk, Russia for The Fifth Krasnoyarsk International Music Festival of the Asia-Pacific region! more on LaFrae here: http://apfest.com/it_eng/41/277/

Also, I’ll be doing this show on bass clarinet – which will be the horn’s first international trip. I’m taking the big dogs for big sounds in Siberia!!

The last time I was in Siberia was in 2009 with Balkan metal band Kultur Shock and it was a life changing experience that gave rise to Crystal Beth and the song Siberian Delirium. http://crystalbeth.bandcamp.com/track/siberian-delirium-2

As I left the country I touched the ground and said “I’ll see you next time – I know I’ll be back” and am thrilled to finally be returning 7 years later! I’m excited to get back there for a week and meet and play with all these new musicians! It’s sure to be an epic adventure.

Before I head across to Asia, I have been gifted a beautiful opportunity to have a REAL vacation – traveling with my entire maternal family (grandparents, mom, uncle, aunt and two happening young ladies I’m proud to call my cousins) to the Caribbean!! We will have 10 days together in the sun – visiting Grand Turk, La Romana Dominican Republic, Curacao, and Aruba – and I couldn’t be happier and feel quite grateful for their gracious support in taking me on this trip. Immediately following our adventure, I will get to spend an entire week at my mom’s house (I usually have a day or two there) for the next installment/development of the Mother May I residency
( https://mothermayimakewaves.wordpress.com/ ) and preparing music for the trip to Siberia.

A month of travel like this is outrageously AWESOME – and I am beaming with excitement. My favorite things in life are travel & playing music.

Of course, as a self-employed performing musician, vacations and months of exploration are challenging things, I still have to pay rent and expenses to maintain my home in Seattle while I travel, and although the festival in Siberia is taking care of that portion of my trip, I still have to front a lot of expenses to get over there and make it all happen.

Once I’m back in July I go straight into working on Freehold’s Engaged Theater production that tours music & theater to prisons. So it will be August before Crystal Beth & the Boom Boom Band is back on stage – this show will be the last chance to catch us until the end of summer!

Did you make it this far? Gosh, I love you too! and I hope you’ll join me in celebrating community and music on 5/28.
BOOM ♥ BOOM

An emphasis on individual creativity in a culture gives rise to creative solutions to social problems….art is the discipline of being…make some noise!!

with love,
BF
aka: Crystal Beth

(photo by Joe Iano)

Leave a Reply

